What is the Round Table?

The Round Table is a politically and confessional neutral association of young men aged between 18 and 40 years. The idea and the organization of Round Table has its origin in the tradition of the English club life. Locally independent tables gathered 20 to 25 young men of different occupations and spheres of action.

The idea: adopt, adapt, and improve

Round Table expects all of its members to have an open-minded interest towards traditional and new ideas alike and developments, according to the slogan "adopt, adapt, and improve". The slogan originates from a speech of the English Duke of Windsor, who encouraged young men with these words in the year 1927 to take over proven solutions and, in addition to that, to further develop and improve them according to the changed conditions of the present and the future.

A substantial part of the club life is therefore dedicated to information about the causes and effects of recent developments in society and the exchange of experiences about work and daily life, between the members of a table. The individual can become acquainted with the points of view and opinions of the other members in this way and extend his horizon beyond the own experience range. The discussion about different opinions and behaviors promotes a form of tolerance for each of the members of the Round Table, which emphasizes common ideas over differences and does not fill up ditches, but builds bridges over it.

assets/uploads/people.jpg

The Round Table is a club of young men who are aged between 18 and 40 years old, with the goal of promoting friendly and social life at the respective residence, and of helping people in need via service activities.

Round Table is however not only local, but also nationally and internationally existent and spread around the globe in this manner. Through the Swiss-wide and global existence of this organization, Round Table offers a national and international network of contacts, which can be helpful both for the individual and vocational personality of the individual members. Round Table differs from other service clubs particularly by the dynamics of the youth, since it is ensured that the group always has a continuous age distribution by the age limit of 40 years. Therefore all members are in a phase of a beginning family and social life as well as at the beginning of their career and are characterized by the idealism and the willingness of the youth. The organization is neither politically nor confessional oriented.

Was ist Round Table?

Round Table ist eine parteipolitisch und konfessionell neutrale Vereinigung junger Männer im Alter von 18 bis 40 Jahren. Die Idee und die Organisationsform von Round Table haben ihren Ursprung in der Tradition des englischen Clublebens: Örtlich selbständige "Tische" führen jeweils etwa 20 bis 25 junge Männer unterschiedlicher Berufe und Wirkungsbereiche zusammen.

Die Idee: adopt, adapt, improve

Round Table erwartet von seinen Mitgliedern Aufgeschlossenheit und Interesse gegenüber traditionellen wie neuen Ideen und Entwicklungen entsprechend dem Motto "adopt, adapt, improve". Das Motto stammt aus einer Rede des englischen Duke of Windsor, der im Jahr 1927 mit diesen Worten junge Männer dazu ermunterte, bewährte Lösungen zu übernehmen und sie auf die veränderten Verhältnisse der Gegenwart und der Zukunft hin weiterzuentwickeln und zu verbessern.

Ein wesentlicher Teil des Clublebens ist deshalb der Information über die Ursachen und Auswirkungen aktueller Entwicklungen und dem Austausch von Berufs- und Lebenserfahrungen der Tischmitglieder untereinander gewidmet. Der einzelne kann auf diese Weise Standpunkte und Meinungen auch aus der Sicht anderer heraus kennenlernen und seinen Horizont über den eigenen Erfahrungsbereich hinaus erweitern. Die Auseinandersetzung mit unterschiedlichen Meinungen und Verhaltensweisen fördert bei den Mitgliedern von Round Table eine Form der Toleranz, die Gemeinsamkeiten über Unterschiede hinweg entwickelt und dabei Gräben nicht zuschüttet, sondern Brücken darüber baut.

assets/uploads/people.jpgRound Table ist ein Club junger Männer im Alter zwischen 18 und 40 Jahren mit dem Ziel, das freundschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Leben am jeweiligen Wohnort zu fördern und durch Serviceaktivitäten in Not befindlichen Menschen zu helfen.

Round Table ist aber nicht nur lokal, sondern auch national und international existent und in dieser Form weltweit verbreitet. Durch die schweizweite und globale Existenz dieser Organisation bietet Round Table den einzelnen Mitgliedern ein nationales und internationales Netzwerk von Kontakten, das sowohl der individuellen als auch beruflichen Persönlichkeitsbildung hilfreich sein kann. Round Table unterscheidet sich von anderen Serviceclubs vor allem durch die Dynamik der Jugend, da durch die Altersgrenze von 40 Jahren gewährleistet ist, dass die Gruppe immer eine gleichbleibende Altersverteilung hat. Daher sind alle Mitglieder in einer Phase des beginnenden Familien- und Gesellschaftsleben sowie am Anfang ihrer Karriere und zeichnen sich durch den Idealismus und die Einsatzbereitschaft der Jugend aus. Die Organisation ist weder parteipolitisch noch konfessionell orientiert.